top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSwati Singh

This Feeling

What is this feeling

Which weighs down my soul so much

Which drowns me in an ocean of despair

My heart turned to stone

Pulls me under and beneath

The vicious waves of the tumultuous sea

This emptiness which suffocates my soul

What is it

The wrath of a storm or a lover’s kiss

Which makes me feel too much at once

Or nothing at all

I yearn for it to just pack its things in a briefcase

And leave

This infinite and omnipresent void

I am its refuge

It’s hiding from something

I am its shield

Joy, hope, dreams were all unscrupulously unfaithful

Deserted me when I begged them to stay

And returned at their will when I had learnt to do without

But this emptiness never left

It had been most loyal

Like a true lover

I wish I could learn to love it back someday

As it has loved me all my life





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page